A Sad Little Insight Into the Demonic

Knowledge of the demonic is nothing to rejoice over. Coming to a Biblical revelation of how evil spirits operate doesn’t cause joy. But such knowledge is still helpful, and worth passing on to others. For that reason, I want to share a sad little insight into the demonic.

First things first: defining our terms. Devil, demon, and evi spirit are all interchangeable and I will use them as such. Second, a devil/demon/evil spirit is just what the Bible says they are. They are spiritual creatures, irredeemable and fallen in nature, and now, innately wicked, i.e. evil. They cannot be redeemed simply because God says so. He has established a system that requires blood for remission (Hebrews 9:22). Spirit beings have no blood and therefore cannot be properly atoned for (unlike humans), meaning if one of them should ever choose to fall, they are automatically condemned forever. Since this is so, their nature cannot be changed. Like an unregenerated human, they are bound to the law of sin, and along with mankind, are incapable of righteousness (Romans 3:10).

This then, explains their behavior. And just what is this behavior? Well, their main work involves the following:

– Depression

– Oppression

– Possession

Note that not all depression is caused by evil spirits. In fact, human sinfulness is often the cause of most depression. Not being in a saving relationship with God causes a lot of depression, too. But this doesn’t mean that every person in the world has a demonic problem. The same is true for oppression. Some humans are oppressed by other humans; this is just a fact of our fallen state. Again, nothing demonic here. And, as far as possession goes, a person may be possessed by God (1 Corinthians 6:19-20) so, even possession isn’t automatically demonic.

But if and when a demon is going to operate in a person’s life, one of these three activities is present. But this isn’t the insight. Most everyone in the Christian world knows all this. The insight has to do with how it is that a human ends up with a demonic problem. The answer is simple: The love of darkness.

In John 3:18-20, Jesus said this:

18. He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.

19. And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.

20. For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.

People who love darkness instead of light do so because the way they act and behave is evil. In such cases, these people prefer to stay in the dark place of their sin, because to do otherwise would cause them to be reproved by God. It would also mean that to do so, they must acknowledge faith in the Son of God, i.e. Jesus Christ, which is not something the average human being is truly prepared to do, no matter what they say. This, then is the problem. And loving darkness presents a danger that most people, even if they admit they are sinners, are not aware of.

But what is this danger? The danger is this: There is a class of evil spirits that are held in or contained by what both Peter and Jude call chains of darkness. See the following verses for support: 2 Peter 2:4 and Jude 1:6.

2 Peter 2:4

4. …God spared not the angels that sinned, but cast them down to hell, and delivered them into chains of darkness, to be reserved unto judgment…

Jude 1:6,

6. And the angels which kept not their first estate, but left their own habitation, he hath reserved in everlasting chains under darkness unto the judgment of the great day.

The sad little insight is this: people who love darkness rather than light (because their deeds are evil) are inevitably going to come into contact with these fallen angels. An unregenerated human, fully lost and in bondage to the works of their flesh will eventually come into the bondage of what the Bible calls the works of the devil (1 John 3:8).

It is at this point that a spiritual depression, and even an oppression can and will set in. By virtue of choosing spiritual darkness over saving light, a person cannot help but to dwell in the very vacinity of these evil spirits, and such a vacinity will cause major spiritual problems for that individual. As a matter of fact, a person so lost can end up weaving these chains of darkness around themselves (with the help of these evil spirits, of course). The weight of these eternal chains of darkness depress and oppress people to no end.

But something even worse can occur. Just as a person can foolishly give up or lose their soul in exchange for gaining the world (Matthew 16:26 and Mark 8:36-37), so, too can a person give their soul to one of these demons, and by so doing, release it into their life and world. At this point, we are now dealing with possession. Just as Jesus took our place on the cross (1 Corinthians 5:21) so, too can we take a devil’s place in the chains. I know, because it happened to me.

In my lost younger years (not that I’m very old yet) I gave myself over to a love of darkness. I rejected the light which Jesus represented in my life and in the world. The more and more I grew to love darkness, the more and more I came into contact with evil spirits. I can’t rightly say that I knew what I was doing exactly. I wasn’t an intentional Satanist, per se, but what I was doing was satanic. Summoning and channeling evil spirits became the norm for me. Sometimes Aaron completely disappeared while under thrall to an evil spirit. Entire chunks of my life are gone from my mental record. I simply do not, or rather, cannot recall them. I was in bad spiritual shape. Sometimes I did and said things beyond my control.

There is a lot more to the story, but suffice it to say, through all this, or because of all this, I ended up a wounded, broken, bi-polar, disassociated, spiritual mess of a human being with a personality disorder. I had (or was at least in the process of having) exchanged my soul for chains. Whatever demon or demons I met had deceived me into putting their chains around my heart and mind. It grew worse and worse, until one day, God intervened.

Whatever it was in His grace and mercy that caused Him to put a stop to it all, I know not. I cannot articulate why God did what He did for me. All I can say is, it’s because He loves me. I didn’t deserve His intervention, His salvation.

But, to conclude I want to share an observation made by a trusted mother in the church by the name of Vicki C., who was present at my repentance, baptism, and in-filling of the Holy Spirit.

She told me afterwards, that when I was in the water, having just been baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, as God’s Spirit descended and filled me, she could see in the Spirit a mass of chains, wrapped around my heart, begin to unwind and fall off. The hold all those demons had on me was broken. God was leading me out of darkness and setting me free. That was Sunday March 9th, 2003.

I leave you with this verse of Scripture:

Acts 10:34-43,

34. Then Peter opened his mouth, and said, Of a truth I perceive that God is no respecter of persons:

35. But in every nation he that feareth him, and worketh righteousness, is accepted with him.

36. The word which God sent unto the children of Israel, preaching peace by Jesus Christ: (he is Lord of all:)

37. That word, I say, ye know, which was published throughout all Judaea, and began from Galilee, after the baptism which John preached;

38. How God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Ghost and with power: who went about doing good, and healing all that were oppressed of the devil; for God was with him.

39. And we are witnesses of all things which he did both in the land of the Jews, and in Jerusalem; whom they slew and hanged on a tree:

40. Him God raised up the third day, and shewed him openly;

41. Not to all the people, but unto witnesses chosen before God, even to us, who did eat and drink with him after he rose from the dead.

42. And he commanded us to preach unto the people, and to testify that it is he which was ordained of God to be the Judge of quick and dead.

43. To him give all the prophets witness, that through his name whosoever believeth in him shall receive remission of sins.

If you are personally lost in the darkness of your sins, or have found yourself at the (lack of) mercy of an evil spirit, I tell you the truth and lie not; your only hope is Jesus Christ. Faith in His name can and will forgive you of your sins. It did for me. It will for you.

And, if you know someone so caught in such a dark and sinister situation, I beg of you, pray and fast for their deliverance. Having felt the weight of an eternal chain of darkness, I can assure you, their life is heading straight for spiritual catastrophe. You may be the only Jesus they ever meet. It’s on you, partner, to do the greater works and seek to save the lost, through Jesus Christ. May God bless you in your endeavors.

Peace

~ by votivesoul on 11/01/2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Mark Showalter's Blog

Always seeking to know God more

Theo-sophical Ruminations

A collage of theological and philosophical musings

