Psalms to “Remember”

Psalm 20:7,

7. Some trust in chariots, and some in horses: but we will remember the name of the Lord our God.

Psalm 22:27,

27. All the ends of the world shall remember and turn unto the Lord: and all the kindreds of the nations shall worship before thee.

Psalm 25:6-7,

6. Remember, O Lord, thy tender mercies and thy lovingkindnesses; for they have been ever of old.
7. Remember not the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions: according to thy mercy remember thou me for thy goodness’ sake, O Lord.

Psalm 42,

1. As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.
2. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?
3. My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God?
4. When I remember these things, I pour out my soul in me: for I had gone with the multitude, I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude that kept holyday.
5. Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.
6. O my God, my soul is cast down within me: therefore will I remember thee from the land of Jordan, and of the Hermonites, from the hill Mizar.
7. Deep calleth unto deep at the noise of thy waterspouts: all thy waves and thy billows are gone over me.
8. Yet the Lord will command his lovingkindness in the day time, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.
9. I will say unto God my rock, Why hast thou forgotten me? why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?
10. As with a sword in my bones, mine enemies reproach me; while they say daily unto me, Where is thy God?
11. Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

Psalm 63:6-7,

6. When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches.
7. Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.

Psalm 74:2,

2. Remember thy congregation, which thou hast purchased of old; the rod of thine inheritance, which thou hast redeemed; this mount Zion, wherein thou hast dwelt.

Psalm 77,

1. I cried unto God with my voice, even unto God with my voice; and he gave ear unto me.
2. In the day of my trouble I sought the Lord: my sore ran in the night, and ceased not: my soul refused to be comforted.
3. I remembered God, and was troubled: I complained, and my spirit was overwhelmed. Selah.
4. Thou holdest mine eyes waking: I am so troubled that I cannot speak.
5. I have considered the days of old, the years of ancient times.
6. I call to remembrance my song in the night: I commune with mine own heart: and my spirit made diligent search.
7. Will the Lord cast off for ever? and will he be favourable no more?
8. Is his mercy clean gone for ever? doth his promise fail for evermore?
9. Hath God forgotten to be gracious? hath he in anger shut up his tender mercies? Selah.
10. And I said, This is my infirmity: but I will remember the years of the right hand of the most High.
11. I will remember the works of the Lord: surely I will remember thy wonders of old.
12. I will meditate also of all thy work, and talk of thy doings.
13. Thy way, O God, is in the sanctuary: who is so great a God as our God?
14. Thou art the God that doest wonders: thou hast declared thy strength among the people.
15. Thou hast with thine arm redeemed thy people, the sons of Jacob and Joseph. Selah.
16. The waters saw thee, O God, the waters saw thee; they were afraid: the depths also were troubled.
17. The clouds poured out water: the skies sent out a sound: thine arrows also went abroad.
18. The voice of thy thunder was in the heaven: the lightnings lightened the world: the earth trembled and shook.
19. Thy way is in the sea, and thy path in the great waters, and thy footsteps are not known.
20. Thou leddest thy people like a flock by the hand of Moses and Aaron.

Psalm 78:38-39,

38. But he, being full of compassion, forgave their iniquity, and destroyed them not: yea, many a time turned he his anger away, and did not stir up all his wrath.
39. For he remembered that they were but flesh; a wind that passeth away, and cometh not again.

Psalm 79:8,

8. O remember not against us former iniquities: let thy tender mercies speedily prevent us: for we are brought very low.

Psalm 89:46-52,

46. How long, Lord? wilt thou hide thyself for ever? shall thy wrath burn like fire?
47. Remember how short my time is: wherefore hast thou made all men in vain?
48. What man is he that liveth, and shall not see death? shall he deliver his soul from the hand of the grave? Selah.
49. Lord, where are thy former lovingkindnesses, which thou swarest unto David in thy truth?
50. Remember, Lord, the reproach of thy servants; how I do bear in my bosom the reproach of all the mighty people;
51. Wherewith thine enemies have reproached, O Lord; wherewith they have reproached the footsteps of thine anointed.
52. Blessed be the Lord for evermore. Amen, and Amen.

Psalm 98:3,

3. He hath remembered his mercy and his truth toward the house of Israel: all the ends of the earth have seen the salvation of our God.

Psalm 103:15-22,

15. As for man, his days are as grass: as a flower of the field, so he flourisheth.
16. For the wind passeth over it, and it is gone; and the place thereof shall know it no more.
17. But the mercy of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting upon them that fear him, and his righteousness unto children’s children;
18. To such as keep his covenant, and to those that remember his commandments to do them.
19. The Lord hath prepared his throne in the heavens; and his kingdom ruleth over all.
20. Bless the Lord, ye his angels, that excel in strength, that do his commandments, hearkening unto the voice of his word.
21. Bless ye the Lord, all ye his hosts; ye ministers of his, that do his pleasure.
22. Bless the Lord, all his works in all places of his dominion: bless the Lord, O my soul.

Psalm 105:1-10,

1. O give thanks unto the Lord; call upon his name: make known his deeds among the people.
2. Sing unto him, sing psalms unto him: talk ye of all his wondrous works.
3. Glory ye in his holy name: let the heart of them rejoice that seek the Lord.
4. Seek the Lord, and his strength: seek his face evermore.
5. Remember his marvellous works that he hath done; his wonders, and the judgments of his mouth;
6. O ye seed of Abraham his servant, ye children of Jacob his chosen.
7. He is the Lord our God: his judgments are in all the earth.
8. He hath remembered his covenant for ever, the word which he commanded to a thousand generations.
9. Which covenant he made with Abraham, and his oath unto Isaac;
10. And confirmed the same unto Jacob for a law, and to Israel for an everlasting covenant:

Psalm 106:4,

4. Remember me, O Lord, with the favour that thou bearest unto thy people: O visit me with thy salvation;

Psalm 111:4,

4. He hath made his wonderful works to be remembered: the Lord is gracious and full of compassion.

Psalm 119:49, 52, and 55

49. Remember the word unto thy servant, upon which thou hast caused me to hope.

52. I remembered thy judgments of old, O Lord; and have comforted myself.

55. I have remembered thy name, O Lord, in the night, and have kept thy law.

Psalm 136,

1. O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.
2. O give thanks unto the God of gods: for his mercy endureth for ever.
3. O give thanks to the Lord of lords: for his mercy endureth for ever.
4. To him who alone doeth great wonders: for his mercy endureth for ever.
5. To him that by wisdom made the heavens: for his mercy endureth for ever.
6. To him that stretched out the earth above the waters: for his mercy endureth for ever.
7. To him that made great lights: for his mercy endureth for ever:
8. The sun to rule by day: for his mercy endureth for ever:
9. The moon and stars to rule by night: for his mercy endureth for ever.
10. To him that smote Egypt in their firstborn: for his mercy endureth for ever:
11. And brought out Israel from among them: for his mercy endureth for ever:
12. With a strong hand, and with a stretched out arm: for his mercy endureth for ever.
13. To him which divided the Red sea into parts: for his mercy endureth for ever:
14. And made Israel to pass through the midst of it: for his mercy endureth for ever:
15. But overthrew Pharaoh and his host in the Red sea: for his mercy endureth for ever.
16. To him which led his people through the wilderness: for his mercy endureth for ever.
17. To him which smote great kings: for his mercy endureth for ever:
18. And slew famous kings: for his mercy endureth for ever:
19. Sihon king of the Amorites: for his mercy endureth for ever:
20. And Og the king of Bashan: for his mercy endureth for ever:
21. And gave their land for an heritage: for his mercy endureth for ever:
22. Even an heritage unto Israel his servant: for his mercy endureth for ever.
23. Who remembered us in our low estate: for his mercy endureth for ever:
24. And hath redeemed us from our enemies: for his mercy endureth for ever.
25. Who giveth food to all flesh: for his mercy endureth for ever.
26. O give thanks unto the God of heaven: for his mercy endureth for ever.

Psalm 143,

1. Hear my prayer, O Lord, give ear to my supplications: in thy faithfulness answer me, and in thy righteousness.
2. And enter not into judgment with thy servant: for in thy sight shall no man living be justified.
3. For the enemy hath persecuted my soul; he hath smitten my life down to the ground; he hath made me to dwell in darkness, as those that have been long dead.
4. Therefore is my spirit overwhelmed within me; my heart within me is desolate.
5. I remember the days of old; I meditate on all thy works; I muse on the work of thy hands.
6. I stretch forth my hands unto thee: my soul thirsteth after thee, as a thirsty land. Selah.
7. Hear me speedily, O Lord: my spirit faileth: hide not thy face from me, lest I be like unto them that go down into the pit.
8. Cause me to hear thy lovingkindness in the morning; for in thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee.
9. Deliver me, O Lord, from mine enemies: I flee unto thee to hide me.
10. Teach me to do thy will; for thou art my God: thy spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness.
11. Quicken me, O Lord, for thy name’s sake: for thy righteousness’ sake bring my soul out of trouble.
12. And of thy mercy cut off mine enemies, and destroy all them that afflict my soul: for I am thy servant.

~ by votivesoul on 09/10/2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Mark Showalter's Blog

Always seeking to know God more

Theo-sophical Ruminations

A collage of theological and philosophical musings

